Masthead 6
Masthead 6 Masthead mobile 6
Tahua Pūtea


We provide funding for projects, events, programmes or initiatives that reflect our mission.

What type of funding is available?

We provide funding in two categories, major grants and minor grants.

We also promote opportunities for New Zealanders to participate in and benefit from UNESCO international and regional programmes and activities, such as enabling New Zealanders to apply for UNESCO opportunities and participation by New Zealand experts in UNESCO meetings. Minor grant funding may be available to support these opportunities.

  • Waka horua
  • Int Jazz Day 01

Our Major Grant funding

The New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO offers Major Grants each year. Applications are now being sought for Major Grant funding worth between $10,000 and $40,000 for our 2021/22 round.

Expressions of Interest for the 2021/22 round are now closed. Successful applicants have been contacted and are invited to fill in a Major Grant Application Form.

Major Grant Application Form
(to be completed by shortlisted applicants by 5pm, 6 August 2021).

For more information download our Major Grant Information Pack.

We are seeking innovative projects, events, programmes or initiatives that reflect our mission:

Deepening connections between the people of Aotearoa New Zealand and UNESCO globally through the sharing of ideas and building capability for a better and more peaceful future.

And priority areas:

Our Minor Grant funding

The New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO has allocated a limited amount of Minor Grant funding to support initiatives that align with our mission and strategic priorities (as listed in the Major Grants Funding information above).

The National Commission invites applications from people with ideas for projects that can connect us all. Applications for Minor Grants of up to $5,000 are now open.

Applications will stay open throughout the year but please apply at least six weeks before your activity starts.

To apply for a Minor Grant you need to complete the Minor Grant Application Form.

For more information download our Minor Grant Information Pack.

National award

The Beeby Award is a partnership between the New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO and the New Zealand Council for Educational Research (NZCER). The Award, previously known as the Beeby Fellowship, was first awarded in 1998. It is named after Dr Clarence Beeby who, in 1934, became the first Director of NZCER, and was Assistant Director-General of UNESCO from 1948-49.

The Beeby Award is offered every two years. The Beeby Award supports development of an innovative learning resource based on high quality research. The Award supports collaboration between research and practice communities so that learners benefit from research findings. The learning resource can be in any format that enables easy use in a range of learning environments, not limited to schools.

The Award is worth $30,000. The recipient/s are expected to devote 3-4 months full-time or equivalent on the Award. The resulting resource is expected to be of high quality and will be published by NZCER Press.

Our grant recipients

Discover what projects, events and initiatives have received New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO major and minor funding in 2020 and before by heading over to our Knowledge Hub.
Scroll to top