New Chair and Commissioner Appointed

Elizabeth Longworth has been appointed as the Chair of the New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO, Associate Minister of Education Jo Luxton announced this week.

New Chair and Commissioner join the National Commission

UNESCO is the United Nations agency responsible for promoting cooperative action among member states in the areas of education, science, culture, social science (including peace and human rights) and communication and information. The National Commission promotes New Zealand’s interests internationally as well as implementing UNESCO priorities and programmes domestically.

Liz Longworth

“Elizabeth Longworth has worked in executive roles for UNESCO and will bring her passion and principles to her new role as Chair. I know her time on the Board of Directors for the Financial Markets Authority will also prove incredibly useful,” Jo Luxton said.

“Linda Faulkner has also been appointed as the new Natural Sciences Commissioner, meanwhile Vanisa Dhiru MNZM has been reappointed as Communication and Information Commissioner, and Dr Dan Hikuroa as Culture Commissioner.

Linda Faulkner

Linda Faulkner is Deputy Director for the Sustainable Seas National Science Challenge. She has worked at the interface of science and Mātauranga Māori for over two decades and brings strong community and science connections to the role of Natural Sciences Commissioner.

“I’m very happy with the mix of skills and experience among the members of the National Commission.

“I’d like to thank outgoing Chair Robyn Baker ONZM for her strong leadership and dedication during her time with the National Commission. I’d also like to thank Natural Sciences Commissioner Dr Geoff Hicks for his commitment to establishing the UNESCO Geoparks programme in Aotearoa New Zealand,” Jo Luxton said.


Scroll to top