National Awards

Beeby Award

The Beeby Award is a partnership between the New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO and the New Zealand Council for Educational Research (NZCER). The Award, previously known as the Beeby Fellowship, was first awarded in 1998. It is named after Dr Clarence Beeby who, in 1934, became the first Director of NZCER, and was Assistant Director-General of UNESCO from 1948-49. The Beeby Award is offered every two years.

The Beeby Award supports development of an innovative learning resource based on high quality research. The Award supports collaboration between research and practice communities so that learners benefit from research findings. The learning resource can be in any format that enables easy use in a range of learning environments, not limited to schools.

The Award is worth $30,000. The recipient/s are expected to devote 3-4 months full-time or equivalent on the Award. The resulting resource is expected to be of high quality and to be published by NZCER Press.

Award in Global Citizenship Education

GCED winners web

We initiated an Award in Global Citizenship Education in 2018. This rewarded education sector or community groups who were doing outstanding work to encourage New Zealanders to become responsible and active global citizens.

The winners were:

  • Patea Area School (Education Sector)
  • Generation Zero (Community)
  • Tiaki Early Learning Centre (Innovation).

St Johns College and UN Youth were also highly commended.

Each winner received a certificate and $3000 at a prize giving ceremony and reception at Parliament, hosted by Hon Jenny Salesa, Associate Minister of Education. Read more about the winners here.