CONSTITUTION OF THE NEW ZEALAND NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR UNESCO (TE KOMIHANA MATUA O AOTEAROA MO UNESCO)

(as amended October 2019)

PREAMBLE

The New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO is established under Article VII of the Constitution of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO). It operates in accordance with the Charter of National Commissions for UNESCO adopted by the 20th session of UNESCO's General Conference and other relevant decisions of the General Conference.

National Commissions ensure the permanent presence of UNESCO in Member States and contribute to the Organisation's efforts to promote international cooperation in the fields of Education, Natural Sciences, Culture, Social and Human Sciences and Communication and Information.

ARTICLE 1

- 1. The New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO shall comprise a Chair and up to five Commissioners appointed by the Minister of Education, with:
 - (i) background and knowledge of all the areas of UNESCO's mandate namely, Education, Natural Sciences, Culture, Social and Human Sciences and Communication and Information
 - (ii) adequate governance and management experience
 - (iii) a strong Māori perspective and gender balance.
- 2. In deciding on membership of the Commission, the Minister will take into account nominations submitted by the Commission's Associate Members and Co-operating Agencies.

ARTICLE 2

The term of office of the Chair and members of the Commission shall be 3 years, except where a shorter term is agreed upon between the appointee and the Minister.

Members of the Commission are eligible for reappointment, except that no member may be reappointed after six years of consecutive service on the Commission.

The Minister retains the right to annul the appointment of a Commission member.

When a member's term expires, that member, unless vacating or being removed from office, shall continue to hold office until he or she is either reappointed or replaced.

In the event of the resignation or death of a member of the National Commission, the Chair of the Commission may recommend to the Minister a person to fill the vacancy for the remainder of the departed member's term.

ARTICLE 3

The functions of the Commission shall be:

- to advise the government and its agencies on all matters relating to UNESCO and on any matters referred to it by the Minister, including the composition of New Zealand's delegations to UNESCO's General Conference and other UNESCO meetings
- 2. to serve as a first point of contact for UNESCO in New Zealand and to undertake a programme of activities which promotes UNESCO objectives in New Zealand
- to act as a conduit for contributing New Zealand leadership and expertise to the work of UNESCO and to represent New Zealand's views and positions on UNESCO-related matters
- 4. to facilitate the engagement with UNESCO of New Zealand's government agencies and non governmental organisations, institutions and individuals, including through funding support and the establishment of sectoral subcommissions and networks
- 5. to provide a governance structure and strategic direction for the work of the National Commission
- 6. to approve an annual work plan and budget
- 7. to report progress to the Minister at six monthly intervals
- 8. to assist with the recruitment and appointment of suitably qualified New Zealanders to UNESCO positions internationally
- 9. to assist the Pacific sub-region to derive full benefit from its engagement with UNESCO.

ARTICLE 4

A quorum at any Commission meeting shall be 4 members, including the Chair.

In the absence of the Chair, a member of the Commission will be designated by the Chair to preside over the meeting as Acting Chair.

In the event of a tied vote on any matter, the Chair or Acting Chair will have a casting as well as a deliberative vote.

ARTICLE 5

The following government agencies or their successor agencies shall have the right to associate membership of the National Commission: the Ministry of Education; the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade; the Science, Innovation, and International Group in the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment; the Ministry for

Culture and Heritage; the Ministry for the Environment; the Department of Conservation; the Ministry of Pacific Peoples; the Ministry for Women; Te Puni Kōkiri; the Ministry of Youth Development; the Office of Ethnic Communities; and the Office for Disability Issues.

As Associate Members, these agencies are entitled to receive relevant papers relating to meetings of the Commission; to attend Commission meetings (with speaking rights but no voting rights); and to submit to the Commission nominations for membership of the Commission and proposals for action on any matter within UNESCO's mandate.

ARTICLE 6

New Zealand organisations and institutions with an interest in UNESCO shall be entitled to apply for Co-operating Agency status with the National Commission.

The Commission is authorised to approve such applications, provided that it is satisfied that the purposes of the organisation or institution are in harmony with the purposes and values of UNESCO and that it has significant regional or national responsibilities.

Co-operating Agencies shall be entitled to submit nominations for membership of the Commission and proposals for action on any matters within UNESCO's mandate.

ARTICLE 7

The Government shall:

- (i) furnish the Commission with Secretariat support through Vote:Education. This includes the appointment of a Secretary General.
- (ii) subject to appropriation, provide finance through Vote:Education to meet the costs of New Zealand's annual subscription to UNESCO, the National Commission's programme activities and the National Commission's operating costs, including its participation in UNESCO's biennial General Conference and other UNESCO meetings.